Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

## The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

May 23, 2012

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9<sup>th</sup> Floor New York, NY 10007

## Re: 825 Fifth Avenue (between 63rd and 64th Streets) - Upper East Side Historic District

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Full Board meeting on Wednesday, April 18, 2012, the board adopted the following resolution regarding **825 Fifth Avenue (between 63rd and 64th Streets) - Upper East Side Historic District** - *Ms. Erica Steinmann, Architect* - A neo-Classical style apartment building designed by J.E.R. Carpenter and built in 1926. Application is to reconstruct parapets.

**Whereas** the applicant proposes to rebuild several parapets on the east and west elevations that have fallen into disrepair;

Whereas the applicant proposes to rebuild the rooftop parapet on the east and west elevations to the same height as the existing parapet and the remaining parapets on various floors on the east and west elevations to a new height of 42" as per Building Code;

Whereas the applicant proposes to rebuild the rooftop parapets using precast concrete to be matched as closely as possible to the existing parapets which are made of terra cotta;

Whereas the proposed dimensions and style of the replacement parapets would be within the scale and character of the building, but the proposed use of precast concrete rather than terra cotta is not within the design vocabulary of the building, particularly a building as architecturally significant as this one. Therefore be it resolved that this application is **disapproved** as presented.

This recommendation was approved by a vote of 38 in favor, 4 opposed, and 0 abstentions.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair David Helpern and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

 cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member Hon. Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member