Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

July 25, 2011

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10007

Re: 822 Madison Avenue (68th and 69th Streets) – Upper East Side Historic District

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Full Board meeting on Wednesday, July 20, 2011, the board adopted the following resolution regarding **822 Madison Avenue (68th and 69th Streets) – Upper East Side Historic District** – Mr. William Fellows, Architect. Application is to modify the window openings in the two-story retail base.

WHEREAS 822 Madison is a neo-Grec style rowhouse designed by Charles Buek and constructed in 1881-82 and altered both in the early 20th century and in the mid-20th century.

WHEREAS there is now a single entry to both the retail space at the first and second floors and the residential space above.

WHEREAS the applicant proposes to raise the retail window by 12" and widen the retail window from 6'8" to 7'9".

WHEREAS within the new proposed 7'9" glass window the applicant proposes a 3' wide door for the retail space; the existing door will only service the residential apartments.

WHEREAS the new glass door (using part of the new higher window to be created) is at grade. **WHEREAS** because of the increase in the height of the glazing at the ground level to create the atgrade door to the retail space, the height of the windows at the 2nd floor are now 11' shorter. **WHEREAS** the applicant proposes to retain all of the original ornamentation around the windows.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this application is approved as presented.

This recommendation was approved by a vote of 40 in favor, 0 opposed and 0 abstentions.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Jane Parshall and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

 cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member NYS Assembly Member Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member