Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

February 22, 2013

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10007

Re: 737 Park Avenue (between 71st and 72nd Streets) - Upper East Side Historic District

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Full Board meeting on Wednesday, February 20, 2013, the board adopted the following resolution regarding **737 Park Avenue (between 71st and 72nd Streets) - Upper East Side Historic District** - *Malay Shah, Architect and Michael F. Doyle,* Architect - A Classicizing Art-Deco style apartment building built in 1940 and designed by Sylvan Bien. Application is to regroup and create new window openings on 17-PH floors.

WHEREAS the Master Plan for windows approved by Landmarks will be adjusted to improve the Plan; whereas 4 doors and 14 windows out of approximately 1,200 windows and doors will have their locations adjusted;
WHEREAS these adjustments take place on the 17th, 19th, and penthouse floors;
WHEREAS many of these openings are not visible from the ground;
WHEREAS these adjustments either restore a window previously closed up, align windows and doors with those below, and/or create symmetrical relationships on their respective floors and with windows on the typical floors; and
WHEREAS the adjustments are contextual within the historic district;
THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT this application is approved.

This recommendation was approved by a vote of 31 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 1 not voting for cause.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair David Helpern and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

 cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member Hon. Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member