Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

March 23, 2012

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10007

Re: 4 East 75th Street (between Fifth and Madison Avenues) – Upper East Side Historic District

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Full Board meeting on Wednesday, March 21, 2012, the board adopted the following resolution regarding **4 East 75th Street (between Fifth and Madison Avenues) – Upper East Side Historic District** – *Ms. Sara Lopergolo, Architect & Oliver Link, Architect* – A neo-French Renaissance style townhouse designed by Trowbridge, Colt and Livingston Architects and built in 1895-96. Application is to alter the rear facade.

WHEREAS the applicant proposes to, among other changes, (1) replace the current windows on the rear facade with new windows, framed in dark wood, that are more uniform in style and size; (2) create a setback on the fourth (top) floor, using blackened steel for railings and sliding glass doors; (3) install Juliet balconies, including a long balcony on the main level, and smaller balconies on the upper floors; and (4) cut out concrete in-full in the rear yard, replacing it with a new garden level.

WHEREAS the proposed changes would result in too much glazing, too contemporary a rear facade, and the proposed design lacks sufficient character for a building with this history.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT this application be disapproved as presented.

This recommendation was approved by a vote of 26 in favor, 14 opposed, and 1 abstention.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair David Helpern and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member

Hon. Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member