Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

November 15, 2012

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10007

Re: 30-38 East 65th Street aka 745-751 Madison Avenue – Upper East Side Historic District

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Land Use/Full Board meeting on Wednesday, November 14, 2012, the board adopted the following resolution regarding **30-38 East 65th Street aka 745-751 Madison Avenue – Upper East Side Historic District** - *Cosmo Veneziale, Architect* – An apartment building designed by Kokkins & Lyras and built 1959. Application to replace main entry canopy and paint the entry vestibule and fasica.

WHEREAS the building has a white brick façade with precast concrete panels at the base; **WHEREAS** the existing canopy made of anodized aluminum replaced the original canvas canopy for the building;

WHEREAS the proposed canopy will be of canvas and is similar in design to the original canvas canopy;

WHEREAS the proposed canopy is a visual improvement over the existing canopy;

WHEREAS the width of the proposed canopy will be 9'-0" as opposed to the existing 8'-4", making it more functional and welcoming;

WHEREAS the grey color of the proposed canopy will be similar to the grey color of the original canopy;

WHEREAS the proposed canopy will have recessed LED lights set into a ceiling grid of white canvas squares; and whereas the light anodized metal of the vestibule will be coated to match the color of the proposed stainless steel posts supporting the canopy;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT this application is approved.

This recommendation was approved by a vote of 36 in favor, 0 opposed, and 0 abstentions.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair David Helpern and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

 cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member Hon. Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member