Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

March 18, 2010

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10007

Re: 21 East 66th Street (between 5th and Madison Avenues) -Upper East Side Historic District

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Full Board meeting on Wednesday, March 17, 2010, the board adopted the following resolution regarding 21 East 66th Street (between 5th and Madison Avenues) - Upper East Side Historic District – *Luigo Landi*, *Architect* – Application is for a proposed penthouse addition.

- (a) **WHEREAS** 21 East 66th Street is a neo-Gothic style apartment building designed by Fred F. French and constructed in 1920-21.
- (b) WHEREAS the application is for the expansion of an existing penthouse.
- (c) WHEREAS the original penthouse was approved by the Landmarks Preservation Commission in 2003.
- (d) **WHEREAS** the proposed one-story addition to the penthouse will be 583 sq. ft., and have a height of 10' and will be lower than the existing bulkhead.
- (e) **WHEREAS** the finish on the proposed 1-story addition will match with the previously finished bulkhead (dating from 2003), so that it is harmonizes with the bulkhead.
- (f) **WHEREAS** the patterning of the addition and of the bulkhead, with its block design, respects some of the detailing of the apartment building below.
- (g) **WHEREAS** the addition is modest in relationship to the bulkhead and the existing penthouse.
- (h) **WHEREAS** the addition is recessed from the existing penthouse.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this application be approved as presented.

This resolution was approved by a vote of 36 in favor, 0 opposed and 0 abstentions

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair Jane Parshall and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member

Hon. Jonathan Bing, NYS Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member Luigo Landi, Architect