Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

May 23, 2012

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10007

Re: 19 East 71st Street (@ Madison Avenue) – Upper East Side Historic District

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Full Board meeting on Wednesday, April 18, 2012, the board adopted the following resolution regarding **19 East 71st Street (@ Madison Avenue) – Upper East Side Historic District –** *Bradley L. Zizmor, Architect* – A Queen Anne style residence built in 1889-90 by Thom & Wilson and altered in 1937 by Joseph Furman. Application is to install lighting, a signage plaque, and an awning.

Whereas the applicant proposes to replace a light fixture and a signage plaque, said replacements to be in substantially the same design and size as the existing light fixture and signage plaque;Whereas the applicant further proposes to install a single awning across the top of the ground floor entrance to the building, said awning to extend across the top of a nearby ground floor window;Whereas the applicant further proposes to install single awnings over each of three windows on the next level above the ground floor;

Whereas the proposed awnings on both floors will be identical in design and materials with the awning on the ground floor to be wider than the other awnings above so as to go across both the ground floor door and the ground floor window;

Whereas the proposed design, materials, and configuration of the awnings are in keeping with the character of the building and nearby buildings.

Therefore be it resolved that is application is approved as presented.

This recommendation was approved by a vote of 35 in favor, 7 opposed, and 0 abstentions.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair David Helpern and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member Hon. Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member