Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

May 20, 2011

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10007

Re: 18 East 82nd Street (Fifth and Madison Avenues) – Metropolitan Museum Historic District

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Land Use/Full Board meeting on Wednesday, May 18, 2011, the board adopted the following resolutions regarding **18 East 82**nd **Street (Fifth and Madison Avenues) – Metropolitan Museum Historic District --** *Mr. Timothy Haynes, Architect* – Application is for alterations to the stoop and areaway and a new parapet railing at the 6th floor.

WHEREAS 18 East 82nd Street is a Beaux-Arts style townhouse, designed by Richard Buckley and constructed in 1900-01.

WHEREAS the applicant proposes to raise the existing iron railing at the front of the house to meet railing height code requirements – the new railing will match the existing railing design and will increase the height of the railing from 2'9" to 3'6".

WHEREAS the new gate for the new raised railing will have limestone newel posts with urns on top of the posts – the newel posts and urns will replicate the original newel posts and urns.

WHEREAS the applicant will add a new "stub" parapet at the rear of the house at the top of the fifth floor -- it will not be visible from the public way and will be 2' high with a slight set back railing consistent with improving drainage for the house.

WHEREAS the work the applicant is proposing has been matched with available historic documentation and neighborhood precedents.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this application is approved as presented.

This recommendation was approved by a vote of 36 in favor, 0 opposed and 0 abstentions.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair Jane Parshall and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member

Hon. Jonathan Bing, NYS Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member