Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

September 16, 2010

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10007

Re: 15 East 93rd Street-(Fifth and Madison)-Carnegie Hill Historic District

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Land Use/Full Board meeting on Wednesday, September 15, 2010, the board adopted the following resolution regarding **15 East 93rd Street-(Fifth and Madison)-Carnegie Hill Historic District***Mr. Gary Savitzky, architect*-A four-story rowhouse built in 1891-92 by William Graul. Application to restore the existing façade.

WHEREAS the building that is the subject of this application is a four-story rowhouse that William Graul built in 1891-92 and is one four adjacent rowhouses built on the same block at around the same time and in similar styles.

WHEREAS the applicant proposes to restore to the facade various items and details that had been removed following the original construction, including the cornice, ornamentation on the facade, details around the bay window, brackets under windows, panel details, and the applicant proposes to recoat the facade using a brownstone stucco mixture and to score the brownstone surface.

WHEREAS the work proposed by the applicant will result in a renovated facade that more closely resembles the original design of the building as originally constructed and will be consistent with the character of the above-mentioned adjacent rowhouses.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that of this application is approved as presented.

This resolution was approved by a vote of 43 in favor, 0 opposed and 0 abstentions

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair Jane Parshall and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member Hon. Jonathan Bing, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member Gary Savitzky, Architect