Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

March 18, 2010

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10007

Re: 1402 Lexington Avenue (between East 92nd St. and East 93rd St.) – Carnegie Hill Historic District

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Full Board meeting on Wednesday, March 17, 2010, the board adopted the following resolution regarding 1402 Lexington Avenue (between East 92^{nd} St. and East 93^{rd} St.) – Carnegie Hill Historic District – *Omer Fenik, Architect* – Application is to correct illegal alterations to the storefront, including the removal of a violation for "installation of sign band without permits" and for "installation of slate tile at storefront roof without permits.

- (a) WHEREAS 1402 Lexington Avenue is a neo-Grec/Romanesque Revival rowhouse designed by James Frame and designed by C. Abbott French & Co. and constructed in 1886-87.
- (b) WHEREAS the applicant will install a faux door on the Lexington Avenue façade.
- (c) WHEREAS the applicant will reduce the fenestration on the Lexington Avenue facade.
- (d) **WHEREAS** the applicant will paint the door into the restaurant on 92nd Street and the new faux door on Lexington Avenue red instead of the existing beige color.
- (e) WHEREAS the applicant will make the bulbs in the outside lighting fixtures smaller.
- (f) **WHEREAS** the applicant is correcting the violations to the property and is making the mostly cosmetic changes to the property that have been requested by the Landmarks Preservation Commission.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this application be approved as presented

This resolution was approved by a vote of 33 in favor, 2 opposed and 1 abstention

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair Jane Parshall and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member Hon. Jonathan Bing, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member Omer Fenik, Architect