Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

July 25, 2012

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10007

Re: 132 East 78th Street (between Lexington and Park Avenues) [Allen Stevenson School] – Upper East Side Historic District

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Full Board meeting on Wednesday, July 18, 2012, the board adopted the following resolution regarding 132 East 78th Street (between Lexington and Park Avenues) [Allen Stevenson School] – Upper East Side Historic District- Francois de Menil, Architect – A neo-Federal style, five-story school building designed by James W. O'Connor and built in 1923-24. Application to renovate the roof canopy.

WHEREAS the proposed roof structure for the school's rooftop play area is 4'-6 ½" taller than the current roof structure making the top of the structure 21'-10 ½" instead of 17'-4" above the roof; WHEREAS the proposed roof structure is covered about equally on top with photovoltaic solar panels and clear polycarbonate panels and the current roof structure is open on top except for a protective mesh;

WHEREAS the perimeter of the proposed structure is covered with a protective mesh and the perimeter of the current structure is covered with a protective mesh;

WHEREAS the proposed roof structure is extended to include a small play area on the roof at the rear of the building;

WHEREAS the proposed extension would be visible over a one story building on Lexington Avenue; **THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** that this application is **approved** as presented.

This recommendation was approved by a vote of 25 in favor, 17 opposed, and 1 abstention.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair David Helpern and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member

Hon. Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member