Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

April 18, 2011

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9th Floor New York, NY 10007

Re: 131 East 92nd Street (Park and Lexington Avenue) – Carnegie Hill Historic District.

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Land Use/Full Board meeting on Wednesday, April 13, 2011, the board adopted the following resolutions regarding 131 East 92nd Street (Park and Lexington Avenue) – Carnegie Hill Historic District. Elizabeth Pratt, architect. Application is to alter the façade.

WHEREAS 131 East 92nd Street is one of a group of 5 houses designed in the neo-Grec style with Queen Anne style details by C. Abbott French and Company and constructed in 1886-87.

WHEREAS the most prominent feature of 131 East 92nd Street is its rounded oriel; the stoop was removed and the first story was modernized in 1937.

WHEREAS the applicant proposes to return the historic details to the first and second floors that were original to the house.

WHEREAS these details include restoring the enframement at the front door, restoring the historic detailing to the window surrounds at the basement level and at the first floor and restoring the cornice at the second floor.

WHEREAS the return of the details at the lower two floors of 131 East 92nd Street are appropriate within the historic district.

WHEREAS the applicant has proposed a thoughtful and historically accurate restoration.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this application is approved as presented.

This resolution was approved by a vote of 41 in favor, 0 opposed and 0 abstentions

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair Jane Parshall and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member

Hon. Jonathan Bing, NYS Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member Ms. Elizabeth C. Pratt, RA