Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

## The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

April 23, 2012

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9<sup>th</sup> Floor New York, NY 10007

## Re: 122 East 95<sup>th</sup> Street (between Park and Lexington Avenues) – Expanded Carnegie Hill Historic District

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Full Board meeting on Wednesday, April 18, 2012, the board adopted the following resolution regarding **122 East 95<sup>th</sup> Street (between Park and Lexington Avenues) – Expanded Carnegie Hill Historic District** – *Michael Zenreich Architects, PC* – Application is to replace windows and doors.

WHEREAS, 122 East 95<sup>th</sup> Street is a Queen Anne style row house designed by C. Abbott French & Co. WHEREAS, the main entrance door will be changed to simulate the original wood entrance door that was on the second floor at the top of the original stoop that had long since been removed.

**WHEREAS,** the two new windows on the second floor, in the location of the original entrance door, match the other four windows on the second floor.

**WHEREAS**, the brick infill below the new second floor windows is slightly recessed to evoke the memory of the original doorway.

**WHEREAS,** the new pairs of windows on either side of the central window on the fourth floor are reminiscent of the design of the original windows.

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that this application is approved as presented.

This recommendation was approved by a vote of 37 in favor, 0 opposed, and 0 abstentions.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair David Helpern and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

 cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member Hon. Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member