Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

November 17, 2011

Hon. Adrian Benepe Commissioner Department of Parks and Recreation The Arsenal 830 Fifth Avenue New York, New York 10021

Re: Plan to Reconstruct the Landscape in the Reservoir East Area of Central Park

Dear Commissioner Benepe:

At the Full Board meeting on Wednesday, November 16, 2011, Manhattan Community Board 8 voted on the following resolution by a vote of 45 in favor, 0 opposed and 0 abstentions:

WHEREAS the landscaping, irrigation system and pathway in the Reservoir East area of Central Park have become deteriorated, requiring reconstruction; and

WHEREAS proposed new plantings and soil regradings would improve the appearance of the area, restore some of the previously existing scenic elements, such as the extensive rhododendron plantings, and generally better integrate this area into the overall design of Central Park; and WHEREAS proposed new landscaping would better screen out views of 5th Avenue and other cityscapes for those in the Reservoir East area, enhancing their park experience; therefore, BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan approves of the Central Park Conservancy's plan to reconstruct the landscape in Central Park's Reservoir East area—a section of Central Park that runs along both sides of the East Drive from E. 86th St. to E. 96th St.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair Margaret Price and Barbara Rudder Co-Chairs, Parks Committee cc: Honorable Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York Scott Stringer, Manhattan Borough President Carolyn Maloney, 14th Congressional District Representative Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 26th Senatorial District Micah Kellner, Assemblyman, 65th Assembly District Assembly Member Dan Quart, 73rd Assembly District Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Speaker, 5th Council District Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District