Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

## The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

July 25, 2012

Hon. Robert B. Tierney, Chair NYC Landmarks Preservation Commission Municipal Building One Centre Street, 9<sup>th</sup> Floor New York, NY 10007

## Re: 11 East 75<sup>th</sup> Street (between Fifth and Madison Avenues) – Upper East Side Historic District Extension

Dear Chair Tierney:

At the Full Board meeting on Wednesday, July 18, 2012, the board adopted the following resolution regarding **11 East 75<sup>th</sup> Street (between Fifth and Madison Avenues) – Upper East Side Historic District Extension** - *Chris Fogarty, Architect* - Neo-federal former row house originally designed by William E. Mowbray, and built in 1987-89 and altered to a multiple dwelling in 1923 by Henry M. Polhemus. Application is to alter the facade and penthouse and to recreate an areaway.

**WHEREAS** this building will be converted from a multiple dwelling back to a single family house; **WHEREAS** the façade will be restored and modified to have a limestone base and a central entrance to differentiate it from the apartment house next door,

**WHEREAS** the house will have decorative wrought iron railings around a new areaway and at the second floor windows; whereas the house will have a new stone cornice to carry out the theme of the stone headers over the windows,

**WHEREAS** the side wall of the rear extension facing the garden will be notched to accommodate new oriel windows,

**WHEREAS** the top floor of the rear extension will be reduced in height, with the top floor converted from a brick box with punched in windows to a wood and glass conservatory,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that is application is approved as presented.

This recommendation was approved by a vote of 41 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 1 not voting for cause.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair David Helpern and David Liston Co-Chairs, Landmarks Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senate Member Hon. Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, NYC Council Member