James G. Clynes Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

## The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

October 20, 2016

Thomas F. Prendergast Chairman, Chief Executive Officer MTA/NYC Transit 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004

Luis H. Sanchez, PE Acting Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35<sup>th</sup> Flr. New York, NY 10038

## Re: Discussion of a request to add a 72nd Street stop for the M15-SBS route.

Dear Chairman Prendergast and Commissioner Sanchez:

At the October 19, 2016 Full Board meeting, the board **<u>approved</u>** the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor 2 opposed 2 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

## Resolution 2-A (M15-SBS Stop at 72nd Street)

WHEREAS Select Bus Service replaced Limited Service on the M15 corridor in October 2010, but no SBS station replaced the M15 Limited stop at 72nd Street, eliminating a connection between the M72 and M15-SBS routes; and

WHEREAS since October 2010, the majority of the corridor's buses bypass 72nd Street, although no buses did so prior to October 2010; and

WHEREAS more than 2,400 people have signed a petition to request the addition of 72nd Street M15-SBS stations in both directions;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8M urges New York City Transit and the NYC Department of Transportation to add 72nd St. M15-SBS stations on both First and Second Avenues; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Community Board 8M reiterates its request that NYCT and DOT install SBS fare-collection machines facing away from the curb at any new SBS stations within our district.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

James G. Clynes

A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren

cc: Hon. Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York
Hon. Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
Hon. Carolyn Maloney, 12<sup>th</sup> Congressional District Representative
Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28<sup>th</sup> Senatorial District
Hon. Dan Quart, 73<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District
Hon. Rebecca Seawright, 76<sup>th</sup> District
Hon. Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5<sup>th</sup> Council District
Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4<sup>th</sup> Council District