James G. Clynes Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

November 2, 2015

Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35th Flr. New York, NY 10038

Re: Modification of existing revocable consent to install, maintain and use planters on the east sidewalk of Fifth Avenue, north of East 59th Street, in front of the property located at 781 Fifth Avenue.

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

At the October 21, 2015 Full Board meeting, the board passed the following resolution to **approve** by a vote of 40 in favor and 6 opposed:

WHEREAS The Sherry Netherland at 781 Fifth Avenue has an existing revocable consent for a clock and for a brass sidewalk insignia bearing the building's logo; and

WHEREAS The Sherry Netherland has applied to modify their existing revocable consent to allow them to install, maintain, and use 11 planters in front of their property for the purpose of beautification; and

WHEREAS these planters would include seven rectangular planters with a maximum size of 4' x 2' 4", and four square planters with a maximum size of 2' x 2';

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan approves the application to modify the existing revocable consent to install, maintain, and use planters on the east sidewalk of Fifth Avenue, north of East 59th Street, in front of the property located at 781 Fifth Avenue.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

James G. Clynes Chairman A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

Hon. Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York cc:

Hon. Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York
Hon. Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
Hon. Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative
Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Hon. Dan Quart, 73rd Assembly District
Hon. Rebecca Seawright, 76th District
Hon. Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District
Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District