James G. Clynes Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

November 2, 2015

Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35th Flr. New York, NY 10038

Re: Discussion of Hampton Jitney operations and proposed stops for Hampton Jitney UES Bus Stops and congestion relief:

b. ICBPS 20150821/84 (1224 Lexington Ave.-Lexington Ave bet. 83rd & 82nd Sts.

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

At the October 21, 2015 Full Board meeting, the board passed the following resolution to **approve** by a vote of 31 in favor and 14 opposed:

WHEREAS in April 2015, the NYC Dept. of Transportation implemented a new "No Left Turn" restriction that prohibits westbound traffic on East 86th Street from turning southbound onto Lexington Avenue; and

WHEREAS Hampton Jitney has received approval to instead originate their bus route at an existing bus stop north of Community Board 8's boundaries, and proposes to then stop at two additional existing local bus stops within CB8, namely in front of 1082 Lexington Ave. (between 77th & 76th Sts.) and in front of 1224 Lexington Avenue (between 82nd & 83rd Sts.); and

WHEREAS the multiple new bus stops proposed are intended to reduce congestion at any single location;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan **APPROVES** Hampton Jitney's application to share the existing New York City Transit bus stop in front of 1224 Lexington Avenue (between 82nd & 83rd Streets).

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

James G. Clynes Chairman A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee cc: Hon. Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District Hon. Dan Quart, 73rd Assembly District Hon. Rebecca Seawright, 76th District Hon. Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Patrick Condren