James G. Clynes Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

October 26, 2015

NYC Public Design Commission City Hall, Third Floor New York, NY 10007 Attention: Jackie Snyder, Executive Director

Re: Proposed FDR Hope Memorial and its Review of Proposed Memorial by NYC Public Design Commission

Dear Executive Director Jackie Snyder:

On Wednesday, October 21, 2015, at the Full Board meeting Community Board 8M voted to approve the following resolution by a vote of 44 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause.

Whereas, the FDR Hope Memorial Committee of the Roosevelt Island Disabled Association wants to create an inspiring sculpture and plaza that encourages the disabled by depicting FDR as an enabled person in his wheelchair;

Whereas, the sculpture will be located in South Point Park just outside the FDR Four Freedoms Memorial on Roosevelt Island;

Whereas, the project has been in process since 2008;

Whereas, the artist Meredith Bergmann is listed in the Percent for Art artist registry of the NYC Arts Commission and was selected in a competitive process;

Whereas, the conceptual design was done step by step by committee and shown to the community at different stages including a public display at the RIVAA art gallery in 2012. The design is permanently on the Roosevelt Islander blog inviting community comment;

Whereas, the design is tasteful and appropriate with an attempt to be accurate; and

Whereas since the project is being partially funded with city funds and will require review by the Department of Parks and Recreation and the Public Design Commission.

Therefore, be it RESOLVED that the project is APPROVED as presented.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

James G. Clynes Chairman

Jeffrey Escobar and Laurence Parnes Co-Chairs, Roosevelt Island Committee

Hon. Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York cc:

Hon. Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District
Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Hon. Dan Quart, 73rd Assembly District
Hon. Rebecca Seawright, 76th Assembly District
Hon. Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Desmond Spillane, Manhattan Team Leader, NYC Parks