Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

October 23, 2014

Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35th Flr. New York, NY 10038

Re: Presentation on the East 86th Street Safety and Streetscape Improvements

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

At the October 15, 2014 Full Board meeting, the board passed the following resolution of **approval** by a vote of 38 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS the East 86th Street Association several years ago initiated a project to beautify the streetscape of East 86th Street; and

WHEREAS the NYC Dept. of Transportation and Dept. of Design & Construction have presented a project that includes the following elements to beautify the streetscape:

- Granite sidewalk & curb replacement
- NYC standard tree guards (three-sided)
- Expanded tree pits with granite pavers
- New trees, shrubs, and bulbs
- NYC standard waste receptacles
- CityRack bicycle racks
- CityBench benches; and

WHEREAS several city and state elected officials have provided funding for this project over the years;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan approves the streetscape beautification project, namely:

- Granite sidewalk & curb replacement
- NYC standard tree guards (three-sided)
- Expanded tree pits with granite pavers
- New trees, shrubs, and bulbs
- NYC standard waste receptacles
- CityRack bicycle racks
- CityBench benches

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 14th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 26th Senatorial District
Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District
Honorable Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District