Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

October 17, 2013

Thomas F. Prendergast Chairman, Chief Executive Officer MTA/NYC Transit 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004 Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35th Flr. New York, NY 10038

Re: Update on a 2009 request to relocate the local bus stop to East 63rd Street and Lexington Avenue

Dear Chairman Prendergast and Commissioner Forgione:

At the October 16, 2013 Full Board meeting, the board <u>APPROVED</u> the following resolution by a vote of 34 in favor, 1 opposed, 1 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS the local M101, M102, and M103 currently does not stop on the same block as the entrance to the 63rd Street F Train Station:

WHEREAS New York City Transit has previously stated their willingness to relocate the local bus stop from its current location between 64th & 65th Streets one block south, to be between 63rd & 64th Streets;

WHEREAS the 63rd Street Station is the only subway station on the Upper East Side with an elevator; and

WHEREAS this relocation will allow passengers to transfer seamlessly between the F Train and the Lexington Avenue local bus without having to cross the street;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8M requests that the New York City Transit relocate a bus stop south instead of north of 64th Street, on the same block as the F Train Station at E. 63rd Street & Lexington Avenue.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member

Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator Hon. Dan Quart, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member