Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

September 23, 2014

Chairman Carl Weisbrod New York City Planning Commission 22 Reade Street New York, NY 10007

Re: A request to permanently close East 91st Street between Second and Third Avenues to vehicular traffic. (joint with Parks Committee)

Dear Chair Weisbrod:

At the September 17, 2014 Full Board meeting, the board passed the following resolution of **approval** by a vote of 43 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS East 91st Street between Second and Third Avenues has been closed to vehicular traffic for approximately four decades; and

WHEREAS this street serves as an oasis for New Yorkers of all ages, in a district that currently boasts less than half an acre of open space per thousand residents; and

WHEREAS The Related Companies closed nearby Ruppert Playground three years ago, further decreasing open space in this area;

WHEREAS the closure of this street has not been made official and therefore is at risk of reversal in the future; and

WHEREAS this street does not require extensive maintenance; and

WHEREAS the East 91st Street bicycle route includes a bicycle path on this block;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that, in order to assure the permanent preservation of East 91st Street between Second and Third Avenues as public open space, Community Board 8 Manhattan urges our elected officials and the City of New York, particularly DOT and Parks, to seek the best way to permanently close this block to vehicular traffic, through de-mapping or via some other legal means that they determine; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan requests that the East 91st Street bicycle path be retained, regardless of whether the street is de-mapped.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 14th Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 26th Senatorial District Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Margaret Forgione, Manhattan Borough Commissioner, NYC Department of Transportation William Castro, Manhattan Borough Commissioner, NYC Department of Parks and Recreation