Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

## The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

September 22, 2011

Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35<sup>th</sup> Flr. New York, NY 10038

## **Re: Presentation by DOT on Extension of Bike Lanes on First and Second Avenues**

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

At the September 21, 2011 Full Board meeting, Community Board 8M adopted the following resolution by a vote of 20 in favor, 11 opposed and 1 Abstention:

WHEREAS, on October 21<sup>st</sup>, 2009, Community Board 8M overwhelming approved a resolution supporting DOT's initiative to create protected bike lanes, and

WHEREAS, Community Board 8M is concerned about the safety of all people who use our streets and sidewalks, and

WHEREAS, Community Board 8M wishes to encourage safe, responsible cycling within our community, and WHEREAS, traffic and safety violations by bicyclists continue to be an issue of extreme concern to the residents of Community Board 8M, and

WHEREAS, the 19<sup>th</sup> Precinct is usually among the top precincts in the issuance of citations for bicycle violations,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8M approves DOT's proposed "Complete Streets Extension", which includes the installation of protected bicycle lanes, from 60<sup>th</sup> Street through 96<sup>th</sup> Street on First Avenue, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Community Board 8M urges the NYPD and the Traffic Enforcement division to continue and increase their enforcement of bicycle regulations in our district, particularly in the project area, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, the Community Board 8M requests that DOT and other involved agencies increase their education and outreach efforts to the bicycling community and provide an update on those efforts to a CB8M Transportation Committee meeting in early 2012.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair Jonathan Horn and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator Hon. Dan Quart, New York State Assembly Member Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member Inspector Matthew A. Whelan, Commander, 19<sup>th</sup> Precinct Michael Pilecki, NYPD Traffic Enforcement