Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

October 20, 2011

Hon. Margret Forgione, Commissioner Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35th Floor New York, NY 10038

RE: Closing 91^{st} street for Play Street for Our Lady of Good Council School Bldg (OLGC) at 323 East 91^{st} Street between 1^{st} and 2^{nd} Avenues for 10:30 am to 12:45pm on school days

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

At its Full Board meeting Wednesday, October 19, 2011, Manhattan Community Board 8 adopted the following resolution by a vote of 42 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions, 1 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS the Our Lady of Good Council School Building (OLGC) is located at 323 East 91st Street, and

WHEREAS this building was formerly occupied by PS 151 and is currently occupied by PS 51 and will be the future home of a new elementary school located in Community District 8, and

WHEREAS there is there is no outdoor play yard or roof area available for the Kindergarten through 5th Grades occupying the OLGC building, and

WHEREAS outdoor physical activity an important component of a complete educational experience, providing essential healthful benefits to the students,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED Community Board 8 requests that the Department of Transportation close East 91st Street, between First and Second Avenue, from 10:30 am to 1 pm on school days, as a play street for the school children in the OLGC School Building.

We would appreciate your advising this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Thank you for your attention in this matter.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf James Clynes and Judith Schneider

Chair Co-Chair, Youth and Education Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Dennis M. Walcott, Chancellor

Hon. Kathleen Grimm, Deputy Chancellor of Finance & Administration

Hon. Jeff Shear, Chief of Staff

Hon. Martin Barr, Executive Director, Department of Education

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Rose Pierre-Louis, Deputy Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member

Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator

Hon. Jonathan Bing, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member

Hon. Robert Jackson, Chair, Education Committee, New York City Council

Josh Orzeck, Community Liaison, Department of Transportation

Marc Sternberg, Deputy Chancellor of Portfolio Planning

Elizabeth Rose, Office of Portfolio, Department of Education

Dara Adams, Office of Portfolio, Department of Education

Kristen Ellis, Director of Comm. Affairs & Constituent Services, Manhattan Borough

President's Office

Mariano Guzman, Superintendent Community School District 2

Shino Tanikawa, President CECD2