James G. Clynes Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

## The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

July 22, 2016

Thomas F. Prendergast Chairman, Chief Executive Officer MTA/NYC Transit 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004 Luis H. Sanchez, PE Acting Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35<sup>th</sup> Flr. New York, NY 10038

## Re: A discussion of the bus stop locations near Fifth Avenue &East 79<sup>th</sup> Street for the M1, M2, M3 & M4 and BXM3 and BXM4 bus lines

Dear Mr. Prendergast and Commissioner Sanchez:

At the July 20, 2016 Land Use/Full Board meeting, the board unanimously **approved** the following resolution by a vote of 40 in favor 0 opposed 0 abstentions an 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS the downtown local and limited M1, M2, M3, and M4 buses used to stop near the northwest corner of 79th Street & Fifth Avenue, before the stop was relocated to the northwest corner of 78th Street & Fifth Avenue; and

WHEREAS the current M1, M2, M3, and M4 stop at the northwest corner of 78th Street & Fifth Avenue is inconvenient, and whereas the sidewalk paving stones on the west side of Fifth Avenue between 78th & 79th Streets are in poor condition; and

WHEREAS there is a drop-off-only stop for the BxM3& BxM4 express buses at the southwest corner of 79th Street & Fifth Avenue;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 requests that New York City Transit and the NYC Department of Transportation swap the locations of the M1/M2/M3/M4 stop and the BxM3/BxM4 stop, so that the downtown local and limited M1, M2, M3, and M4 buses will stop near the southwest corner of 79th Street & Fifth Avenue while the BxM3 and BxM4 will stop near the northwest corner of 78th Street & Fifth Avenue.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

James G. Clynes Chairman A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Hon. Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Carolyn Maloney, 12<sup>th</sup> Congressional District Representative Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28<sup>th</sup> Senatorial District Hon. Dan Quart, 73<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District Hon. Rebecca Seawright, 76<sup>th</sup> District Hon. Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5<sup>th</sup> Council District Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4<sup>th</sup> Council District