James G. Clynes Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) **www.cb8m.com** Website **info@cb8m.com** - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

July 17, 2015

Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35th Flr. New York, NY 10038

Re: Streetscape Items – Department of Transportation

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

At the July 14, 2015 Second Avenue Subway Task Force Committee meeting, the committee passed the following resolution to **approve** by a vote of 9 in favor, 2 opposed, 0 abstentions:

WHEREAS New York City Department of Transportation Borough Commissioner Margaret Forgione presented information regarding restoration of the Second Avenue streetscape, including details regarding lighting, street furniture and plantings. Following questions and comments from the public and members of the Second Avenue Subway Task Force, the following resolution was proposed and voted on:

BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 urges the New York City Department of Transportation to investigate and explore as an alternative to the City Light the feasibility of installing the TBTA Style and TBTA Shielded Teardrop Style streetlight on Second Avenue as part of the streetscape restoration between 105th Street and 64th Street, and provide a report at the next meeting of the Second Avenue Subway Task Force.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

James G. Clynes Chairman M. Barry Schneider and Craig Lader Co-Chairs, Second Avenue Subway Task Force Committee cc: Hon. Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member, 12th District Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator, 28th District Hon. Dan Quart, New York State Assembly Member, 73rd District Hon. Rebecca Seawright, New York State Assembly Member, 76th District Hon. Ben Kallos, New York City Council Member, 5th District Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member, 4th District Michael Horodniceanu, President, MTA CC Richard Mulieri, Senior Director of government of Community Affairs, MTA CC