James G. Clynes Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

July 22, 2015

Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35th Flr. New York, NY 10038

Re: Continuing discussion of a new stop for the Hampton Jitney: revised application to share existing NYCT stop in front of 1326 Lexington Avenue (west side of the avenue, between 88th and 89th Streets).

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

At the July 15, 2015 Full Board meeting, the board passed the following resolution to **disapprove** by a vote of 47 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS in April 2015, the NYC Dept. of Transportation implemented a new "No Left Turn" restriction that prohibits westbound traffic on East 86th Street from turning southbound onto Lexington Avenue; and

WHEREAS the Hampton Jitney buses previously turned left at that intersection as part of their standard route, but now detour west to Fifth Avenue, south to 72nd Street, and east to Lexington Avenue; and

WHEREAS Hampton Jitney has requested to instead share an existing bus stop in front of 1326 Lexington Avenue between 88th & 89th Streets, where the Lexington Avenue local buses stop; and

WHEREAS several members of the community have expressed concerns about this proposed location, with its narrow sidewalks and its proximity to a busy greengrocer;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan **DISAPPROVES** Hampton Jitney's application to share the existing New York City Transit bus stop in front of 1326 Lexington Avenue

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

James G. Clynes Chairman A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

Hon. Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York cc:

Hon. Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York
Hon. Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
Hon. Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative
Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District
Hon. Dan Quart, 73rd Assembly District
Hon. Rebecca Seawright, 76th District
Hon. Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District
Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Patrick Condress Hometon Litrary

Patrick Condren, Hampton Jitney