James G. Clynes Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

March 3, 2016

Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35th Flr. New York, NY 10038

> Re: Continuing discussion of the Citi Bike program and the proposed locations for bicycle share stations on the Upper East Side

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

At the July 15, 2015 Full Board meeting, the board passed the following resolution to **approve** by a vote of 40 in favor, 1 opposed, 1 abstentions and 1 not voting for cause:

BE IT RESOLVED THAT Community Board 8 Manhattan urges the NYC Department of Transportation to use the smallest workable footprint for the bicycle share stations within this community district; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT the Department of Transportation should not proceed with additional or revised station locations without returning to present these locations to Community Board 8; and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED THAT any additional community concerns should be addressed when they arise as the program goes forward, and that all stations should be reviewed within six months of operation of an individual station.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

James G. Clynes Chairman A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Hon. Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Hon. Dan Quart, 73rd Assembly District

Hon. Rebecca Seawright, 76th District

Hon. Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District