Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

September 16, 2010

Honorable Michael Bloomberg, Mayor The City of New York City Hall New York, New York 10007

Dear Mayor Bloomberg;

At the September 15, 2010 Land Use/Full Board Committee Meeting of Community Board 8M, the following resolution was adopted by a vote of 41 in favor, 1 opposed, and 0 abstentions:

WHEREAS the confluence of events that include the expiration of the Con Ed lease, the necessity for the UN to build new office space, and the continued presence of temporary caissons that remain in the East River have come together at a unique moment in time; and

WHEREAS the remaining caissons are very close to the FDR drive wall and therefore most likely pose no negative environmental impact to the aquatic environment of the East River, and

WHEREAS the project will give the City a valuable opportunity to connect the east side Greenway, both to the north and to the south,

WHEREAS the residents of the community place a great value on improved access to and beautification of the waterfront, and

WHEREAS the vision for the waterfront accomplishes these two very important goals,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 M supports the "Visions for the East Side Waterfront & Parks" for the Greenway and urges the City to move forward on this plan as soon as possible with community input and agency oversight review, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Community Board 8 M considers it imperative that the plan include the funding and restoration of the small piece of Andrew Haswell Green Park, Phase IV, from the former Sanitation Department building to where the Greenway hooks up to Community District 8.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair Dave Kleckner & Debra Teitelbaum Co-Chairs, Environment and Sanitation Committee cc: Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President
Hon. Rose Pierre-Louis, Deputy Manhattan Borough President
Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member
Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator
Hon. Jonathan Bing, New York State Assembly Member
Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member
Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member
Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member
Seth W. Pinsky, President of Economic Development Corporation
David Quart, Vice President of Development, NYC Economic Development Corporation
Adrian Benepe, Commissioner, NYC Department of Parks & Recreation
William Castro, Manhattan Borough Commissioner, NYC Department of Parks and Recreation