James G. Clynes Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com- E-Mail www.cb8m.com – Website

## The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

July 26, 2016

Hon. Bill de Blasio Mayor of City of New York City Hall New York, NY 10007

**RE: Street Vendors Restrictions** 

Dear Mayor de Blasio:

At the June 15, 2016, Full Board meeting of Manhattan Community Board 8, the following resolution regarding street vendors restrictions was voted on as follows:.

**WHEREAS,** businesses, hospitals and individuals have made requests to the Community Board asking how a street becomes restricted to vending, and

**WHEREAS,** there was, in the past, a mechanism called the Vendor Review Panel that provided a mechanism for anyone to make an application to have a street restricted to vending, and

**WHEREAS**, the applicant for a restricted street had to present evidence and the rationale for such a request, and

WHEREAS, the Vendor Review Panel is no longer operational, and

**WHEREAS,** currently there is no such mechanism in the City of New York for making an application for a street to be restricted from vending,

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** that Community Board 8 strongly requests that such a mechanism be put into place by the City of New York that would provide clear guidelines as to how to make such an application for a street to be restricted with respect to street vending and that it would be heard and acted upon in a timely manner.

This recommendation was a unanimous approval by a vote of 40 in favor, 0 opposed, and 0 abstentions.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

James G. Clynes Chairman Michele Birnbaum and Marco Tamayo Co-Chairs, Vendor Task Force Committee Cc: Hon. Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Carolyn Maloney, 12th Congressional District Representative

Hon. Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 28th Senatorial District

Hon. Dan Quart, 73rd Assembly District

Hon. Rebecca Seawright, 76th Assembly District

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District

Hon. Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District