Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

June 19, 2014

Hon. Andrew Cuomo Governor The Executive Chamber Capitol Albany, New York 12224

Re: Assembly Bill A.8478-B/Senate Bill S.6496-B – Reduction of NYC Speed Limits

Dear Governor Cuomo:

At the June 18, 2014, Full Board meeting, the Board **approved** the following resolution by a vote of 35 yes, 1 no, 4 abstentions, and 0 not voting for cause:

BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan calls on the New York State Assembly, the New York State Senate, and Governor Cuomo to grant New York City the power to lower the default city speed limit to 25 miles per hour.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Sheldon Silver, Speaker, NYS Assembly Member,

Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York

Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 14th Congressional District Representative

Honorable Jeff Klein, NYS Senator, 34th Senatorial District

Honorable Den Skelos, NYS Senator, 9th Senatorial District

Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 26th Senatorial District

Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District

Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District

Honorable Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District