Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

## The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

June 21, 2013

Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35<sup>th</sup> Flr. New York, NY 10038

Re: A request for a Taxi Relief Stand at East 87<sup>th</sup> Street between First and Second Avenue

## Dear Commissioner Forgione:

At the June 19, 2013 Full Board meeting, the board **APPROVED** the following resolution by a vote of 27 in favor, 6 opposed, 2 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS 87 St. Deli Inc. is a business located at 1665 First Avenue that is open 24 hours, 7 days per week; and

WHEREAS 87 St. Deli Inc. has restrooms that are available for the use of taxi cab drivers, thus providing an essential service; and

WHEREAS taxi cab drivers provide an essential service for the City of New York; and

WHEREAS the owner of 87 St. Deli Inc. has requested a taxi relief stand on East 87th Street west of First Avenue for four to five taxis, but was willing to accept a taxi relief stand for three taxis; and

WHEREAS the NYC Department of Transportation has determined that this block can accommodate a relief stand for up to four or five taxis; and

WHEREAS the current curb regulation is for alternate side parking on East 87th Street on Tuesday and Friday from 9:00 to 10:30 AM; and

WHEREAS limiting the hours of the taxi relief stand to be from 10:30 AM to 7:00 PM will permit area residents to park overnight and not interfere with street cleaning;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan supports the request for a taxi relief stand on East 87th Street west of First Avenue for three taxi cabs, from 10:30 AM to 7:00 PM seven days per week.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

## A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member

Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator

Hon. Dan Quart, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member