Nicholas D. Viest Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) **www.cb8m.com** Website **info@cb8m.com** - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

July 18, 2013

CORRECTED COPY

Michael Horodniceanu President MTA Capital Construction 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004-2207

Re: Installation of elevators at Second Avenue Subway Stations

Dear President Horodniceanu:

At the June 19, 2013 Full Board meeting, Community Board 8M <u>APPROVED</u> the following resolution by a vote of 24 in favor, 7 opposed, 4 abstentions and 1 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS the United States Census Bureau estimates that more than 7% of residents of Community Board 8M have disabilities, and nearly 24% of residents 65 years of age and older have disabilities (*Source: NYC Dept. of City Planning, Dec. 2012*),

WHEREAS those community members with disabilities, including the visually impaired and those traveling by wheelchairs, deserve the same safety assurances and independence as all members of our community,

WHEREAS the service objective is for no more than 11 days of unscheduled outage per elevator per year,

WHEREAS only one elevator is planned for five locations in the three new stations,

Be It Resolved That Community Board 8M recommends that the MTA include at least two elevators from the mezzanine level to the platform at each of the Second Avenue Subway Stations.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair Jim Clynes and M. Barry Schneider Co-Chairs, Second Avenue Subway Task Force Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator Hon. Dan Quart, New York State Assembly Member Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member