Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

June 17, 2010

Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35th Flr. New York, NY 10038

Re: Discussion of a request to DOT by Fairway for expanded hours and size of the Truck Loading Zone on the south side of East 86th Street between Second and Third Avenues

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

At the June 16, 2010 Full Board meeting, Community Board 8M adopted the following resolution by a vote of 28 in favor, 10 opposed, 5 Abstentions:

WHEREAS, members of the public have overwhelmingly expressed support for Fairway's opening of a store at 240 East 86th, and

WHEREAS, Fairway has fully explained their intended method of operation at this location, and

WHEREAS, the terms of the lease between Fairway and the property owner strictly regulate their use of sidewalk space, storage of garbage and other issues of concern to the general community, and

WHEREAS, the MTA will be periodically removing portions of the current loading zone on the north side of East 86th Street between Second and Third Avenue for Second Avenue Subway construction work,

THERFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8M approves Fairway's request for a "No Standing, Truck Loading and Unloading" zone from 5 am to 10 pm, 7 days a week running approximately 100 feet on the south side of East 86th Street in front of their storefront, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that Community Board 8M approves Fairway's request to extend the length of this loading zone to 150 feet during those periods that the use of the loading zone on the north side of East 86th Street is restricted by or in use by the Second Avenue Subway construction project.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair Jonathan Horn and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Rose Pierre-Louis, Deputy Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member

Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator

Hon. Jonathan Bing, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member