Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

## The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

June 17, 2010

Chancellor Joel Klein NYC Department of Education 52 Chambers Street New York, NY 10007

RE: Discussion of retention of the G & T program at Roosevelt Island School PS 217

Dear Chancellor Klein:

At the Full Board meeting Wednesday, June 16, 2010, Manhattan Community Board 8 adopted the following resolution by a vote of 40 in favor, 0 opposed 0 abstentions and 1 no voting for cause:

**WHEREAS**, in September 2009 the DOE established a Gifted and Talented (G&T) program at PS217 on Roosevelt Island, starting with Kindergarten, and

**WHEREAS**, the students attending this new G&T program were drawn from Manhattan, Roosevelt Island and Queens, and

**WHEREAS**, there are enough students from Queens District 30 that are eligible and would like to attend the Roosevelt Island G&T program, but were not given the option, and

**WHEREAS**, the DOE did not give the G&T program on Roosevelt Island enough time to take hold in the educational community before deciding to close it down, and

**WHEREAS**, transportation to school during this year and the beginning of next year may have been seen as a problem by some parents, due to the closure of the Tram for an indefinite amount of time.

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** that Community Board 8 strongly recommends that the DOE keep the G&T program on Roosevelt Island.

**BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED** that Community Board 8 strongly recommends that the DOE make the G&T program on Roosevelt Island a CITYWIDE School, thereby allowing the students to apply to any middle school for which they are eligible.

Please advise this office of your action taken in this matter.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair James Clynes and Judith Schneider Co-Chair, Youth and Education Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Dennis M. Walcott, Deputy Mayor for Policy

Hon. John White, Department of Education

Hon. Kathleen Grimm, Deputy Chancellor of Finance & Administration

Hon. Jeff Shear, Chief of Staff

Hon. Martin Barr, Executive Director, Department of Education

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Rose Pierre-Louis, Deputy Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member

Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator

Hon. Jonathan Bing, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member

Hon. Robert Jackson, Chair, Education Committee, New York City Council

Marc Sternberg, Deputy Chancellor of Portfolio Planning

Elizabeth Rose, Office of Portfolio, Department of Education

Jenny Sobelman, Office of Public Affairs, Department of Education

Anthony Borelli, Director of Land Use, Manhattan Borough President's Office

Kristine Ellis, Community Liasion, Manhattan Borough President's Office

Daria Rigney, Superintendent Community School District 2

T. Elzora Cleveland, President, CEC District 2

Ms. Mandana Beckman, Principal, PS 217

Ms. Nikki Leopold, PTA President, PS 217