Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

May 22, 2014

Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35th Flr. New York, NY 10038

Re: Update on request to change the parking on East 63rd Street between York & First Avenues from No Standing, 7AM to Midnight, all days to No Standing, 7AM to 7PM, except Sundays. (Requested by Ms. Siskind, resident) presented to the committee February 5, 2014; resolution passed.

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

At the May 21, 2014 Full Board meeting, the board passed the following resolution of **approval** by a vote of 45 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS New York City Department of Transportation has recently changed the parking regulations on both sides of East 63rd Street, between York and First Avenues; and

WHEREAS the change in the nighttime traffic pattern on the Queensboro Bridge does not appear to have caused a noticeable increase in traffic on East 63rd Street sufficient to require additional parking restrictions between 7 PM and Midnight; and

WHEREAS the elimination of parking on the southern curb in the evening and allows cars to speed down this block; and

WHEREAS the swapping of regulations between the northern and southern curbs would provide more truck loading spaces in the daytime and more parking spaces in the evening;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 Manhattan strongly urges NYC DOT to reverse the parking regulations on the southern and northern curbs of East 63rd Street, between York and First Avenue, as follows:

- Change the southern curb regulations to Truck Loading, 7 AM to 7 PM, Except Sunday; and
- Change the northern curb regulations to No Standing, 7 AM to Midnight, All Days.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 14th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 26th Senatorial District
Honorable Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member, 76th Assembly District
Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District
Honorable Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District