Nicholas D. Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

May 23, 2014

Hon. First Deputy Commissioner Liam Kavanagh Department of Parks and Recreation The Arsenal 830 Fifth Avenue New York, New York 10021

Re: Proposal by the Parks Dept. to display sculptures by Ewerdt Hilgemann along the Park Avenue Malls between 52nd and 67th streets from early August to November, 2014.

Dear First Deputy Commissioner Kavanagh:

At the Full Board meeting on Wednesday, May 21, 2014, Manhattan Community Board 8 approved the following resolution by a vote of 44 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 abstention and 0 not voting for cause.

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS artist Ewerdt Hilgemann will be producing sculptures that reflect the architecture of New York City; and

WHEREAS the project has the support of the Parks Dept. and the Fund for Park Avenue; and

WHEREAS the Parks Dept. will ensure that the art works will be safely installed and not interfere with plantings in the Park Avenue Malls; and

WHEREAS the CB8M Parks Committee is requesting assurances from the Dept. of Transportation that the sculptures will not block the view of drivers in the area; therefore,

BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8, Manhattan, approves of the Parks Dept.'s plans to install seven Ewerdt Hilgemann sculptures along the Park Avenue Malls from late August to early November, 2014, providing that the Dept. of Transportation determines that the sculptures will not block views of drivers using the involved roadways.

Sincerely,

Nicholas D. Viest Chair Margaret Price and Barbara Rudder Co-Chairs, Parks Committee cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York
Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
Carolyn Maloney, 14th Congressional District Representative
Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 26th Senatorial District
Micah Kellner, Assemblyman, 65th Assembly District
Assembly Member Dan Quart, 73rd Assembly District
Ben Kallos, NYC Council Speaker, 5th Council District
Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Honorable William Castro, Manhattan Borough Commissioner