Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

## The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

May 22, 2014

Thomas F. Prendergast Chairman, Chief Executive Officer MTA/NYC Transit 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004

Re: Request for the MetroCard Bus or Van to park at 91<sup>st</sup> Street and Second Avenue

## Dear Chairman Prendergast:

At the May 21, 2014 Full Board meeting, the board passed the following resolution of **approval** by a vote of 45 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS none of the current MetroCard Bus and Van locations for the Upper East Side and Yorkville are on Second Avenue, and

WHEREAS many seniors live near the intersection of East 91st Street & Second Avenue, and

**WHEREAS** the Carnegie Hill MetroCard Bus location at 90th Street & Lexington Avenue is up a very steep hill that is difficult for some residents to navigate, and

**WHEREAS** no additional equipment would be required to redeploy the MetroCard Bus or Van from other scheduled stops at the Upper East Side, Yorkville, or Carnegie Hill locations,

**THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED** that Community Board 8 Manhattan requests that New York City Transit add East 91st Street & Second Avenue to the list of locations within CB8 at which the MetroCard Bus and/or Van is regularly scheduled.

Please advise this office of any action taken on this matter.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest
A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren
Chair
Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 14<sup>th</sup> Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 26<sup>th</sup> Senatorial District
Honorable Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member, 76<sup>th</sup> Assembly District
Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District
Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5<sup>th</sup> Council District
Honorable Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4<sup>th</sup> Council District