Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

May 22, 2014

Andrew Cuomo Governor of New York Executive Chambers Albany, NY 12224 Bill De Blasio Mayor of the City of New York City Hall New York, NY 10007

> Re: Informational Presentation: Move NY's plan for funding the Metropolitan Region's transportation systems/roads/bridges

Dear Governor Cuomo and Mayor De Blasio:

At the May 21, 2014 Full Board meeting, the board passed the following resolution of **approval** by a vote of 34 in favor, 2 opposed, 7 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS, traffic congestion in the central business district of Manhattan has been increasing on a yearly basis with the result that it is very difficult to carry out business in the area, and

WHEREAS, the traffic congestion in the central business district of Manhattan has led to deteriorating air quality with an adverse impact on health and the environment, and

WHEREAS, traffic congestion in the central business district of Manhattan has led to traffic congestion on the Upper East Side, and

WHEREAS, the lack of tolls on the Queensboro Bridge has led to traffic congestion on the Upper East Side, and

WHEREAS, it is necessary to provide a continuing source of money for mass transit improvements in order to bolster the budget of the MTA, and

WHEREAS, the Move NY Fair Tolling & Transportation Reinvestment Plan would both decrease traffic congestion and provide funding for mass transit and roads, and

WHEREAS, in March 2008 Community Board 8M passed a resolution in support of congestion pricing by a vote of 27 in favor, 6 opposed, and 3 abstentions;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan supports the core principles of the draft Move NY Fair Tolling & Transportation Reinvestment Plan.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

cc: Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 14th Congressional District Representative
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 26th Senatorial District
Honorable Micah Kellner, NYS Assembly Member, 76th Assembly District
Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District
Honorable Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Polly Trottenberg, Commissioner, NYC Department of Transportation