Nicholas D. Viest Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

SECOND AVENUE SUBWAY TASK FORCE

Manhattan Community Board 8
Thursday, May 23, 2013
Lenox Hill Hospital
130 East 77th Street (Lexington-Park) Room 201 AB, Floor 2A
6:30 PM

Present: Lowell Barton, Barbara Chocky, James Clynes, Susan Evans, Scott Falk, Rita Popper, Margaret Price, Barbara Rudder, David Rosenstein, Abraham Salcedo , Barry Schneider, Judy Schneider, Helene Simon, Teri Slater, Timothy Yeo

The meeting was called to order at 6:30 PM

1. Construction Updates

Presented by Tom Peyton, Program Director for the Second Avenue Subway Construction

The complete PowerPoint presentation is available at: $http://www.mta.info/capconstr/sas/pdf/2013_May\%2023rd_\%20CB8\%20Const\%20update\%20Final.pdf$

- 2. Review of plans for a bike lane and associated parking and turn lanes along the route of the SAS on the east side of Second Ave., and the relocation of the 69th St. entrance to the SAS station from within 301 East 69th St. to the avenue sidewalk.
 - Members of the community and Board members expressed concerns about how the new configuration bump out and bicycle lane would impact the quality of life of area residents. Since no one from the Department of Transportation was present to respond to the issues raised, the Task Force would request that the Board chair send a letter to the Manhattan Borough Commissioner requesting answers to the matters discussed at the meeting. (The letter was sent on May 29, 2013.)
- 3. Discussion of options for adding at least one backup elevator where only one elevator is now planned for all new stations on the Second Avenue Subway alignment.
 - There was a discussion of the request by members of the community, including several in wheel chairs, that the MTA include an additional elevator where only one is now planned for the four stations in Phase. The Task Force requested that the MTA and the New York City Transit Authority respond in writing to the request to include a second elevator from the mezzanine to the platform in all four Phase 1 stations.
- 4. Discussion regarding replicating the 69th Street entrance design for 86th Street--sidewalk bump-out and access from the public right-a-way.

Following a presentation by Richard Bass, Chief Planning and Development Specialist Herrick, Feinstein LLP, regarding a plan to relocate an entrance for the 86th Street Station from E. 86th Street between 1st and 2nd Avenues to Second Avenue between E. 86th Street and E. 87th Street, the Task Force passed the following motion:

Be It Resolved that Community Board 8M recommends that representatives of the MTA meet with representatives of Yorkshire Towers (305 E. 86th Street) to discuss the feasibility of relocating the bump out from E. 86th Street to Second Avenue to accommodate an entrance to the 86th Street Station.

The Vote: 14 - 0 - 0 - 1

In favor: Lowell Barton, Barbara Chocky, James Clynes, Susan Evans, Scott Falk, Rita Popper, Margaret Price, Barbara Rudder, David Rosenstein, Abraham Salcedo, Barry Schneider, Judy Schneider, Helene Simon, Teri Slater

Not voting for cause: Timothy Yeo

Following this discussion and vote, a member of the Task Force proposed the following motion:

Be It Resolved That Community Board 8M recommends that there be further discussion between the MTA and the Department of Transportation relative to the bump out at E. 69th Street and Second Avenue.

The Vote: 14 - 0 -1 - 1

In favor: Lowell Barton, Barbara Chocky, James Clynes, Susan Evans, Rita Popper, Margaret Price, Barbara Rudder, David Rosenstein, Abraham Salcedo, Barry Schneider, Judy Schneider, Helene Simon, Teri Slater

Abstaining: Scott Falk

Not voting for cause: Timothy Yeo

Note: Audio recordings of all committee meetings are maintained in the office of Manhattan Community Board 8 and may be listened to by appointment.

Respectfully submitted, James Clynes and M. Barry Schneider, SAS TF Co-Chairs