James G. Clynes Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

April 25, 2016

Vicki Been, Commissioner Housing Preservation and Development 210 Joralemon St # 804 Brooklyn, New York 11201

RE: RESOLUTION - NYCHA Privatization Housing, Taking Park Space Away For Private Development

Dear Ms. Been:

At the April 20, 2016 Full Board meeting of Manhattan Community Board 8, the following recommendation was adopted by a vote of 42 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS, the City and NYCHA have held only one hearing regarding the Mayor's "Next Generation Neighborhood" plan; and,

WHEREAS, the residents of Stanley Isaac Houses and Holmes Towers and Community Board 8 have expressed their dissatisfaction the Next Generation Neighborhood plan and its impact on their continued housing and quality of life; and,

WHEREAS, the residents and community members are not afforded an opportunity to disapprove of the Next Generation Plan; and,

WHEREAS, this plan will impact the residents of Isaac Houses-Holmes Towers and Community Board 8 for generations to come and,

WHEREAS, the lack of transparency and input raise issues of an undemocratic process and potential for financial inefficiencies or continued poor management by the City and NYCHA;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT, Community Board 8 recommends that City Council hold a vote on New York City and NYCHA's "Next Generation Neighborhood" plan and to vote "No" on the plan.

Please	advise	this	office	of anv	action	taken	regarding	this	matter.
							0		

Sincerely,

James G. Clynes Chairman Loraine Brown and Edward Hartzog Co-Chair, Housing Committee

Cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York
Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President
Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 26th Senatorial District
Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District
Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member, 76th Assembly District
Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District
Honorable Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District
Daniel Bernstein, Esq.