James G. Clynes Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) info@cb8m.com - E-Mail www.cb8m.com - Website

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

April 21, 2015

Vicki Been, Commissioner Housing Preservation and Development 210 Joralemon St # 804 Brooklyn, New York 11201

RE: Section 421-a Application – 301 East 61st Street (a.k.a. 1161 Second Avenue) Block 1436 Lot 1- New York, New York 10065/Lots: to-be-formed condominium tax lots 1401 – 1431 [30 Residential Condominium tax lots & 1 Commercial Condominium tax lot] (currently known as Lot 1) 421-a Preliminary & Final Applications Online Application Project Sequence No. 53658

Dear Ms. Been:

At the April 15, 2015 Full Board meeting of Manhattan Community Board 8, the following recommendation was adopted by a vote of 33 in favor, 0 opposed, 2 abstentions and 1 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS, the applicant/owner of 61st and 2nd NYC LLC and its representatives failed to appear for the Housing Committee meetings and,

WHEREAS, the members of the Committee and public were unable to ask and have answered any questions pertaining to the project and,

WHEREAS, the members of the Committee and public were interested in learning more about the number of affordable apartments that were built in conjunction with the project, the length and extent of the tax abatement for the residents of the building and other related issues and,

WHEREAS, the members of the Committee and public were deprived of an opportunity to have these and other questions answered in a public forum,

THEREFORE, be it resolved that the application is hereby disapproved.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

James G. Clynes Chairman Edward Hartzog Chair, Housing Committee Cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 26th Senatorial District Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73rd Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member, 76th Assembly District Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5th Council District Honorable Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4th Council District Daniel Bernstein, Esq.