Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

May 20, 2011

Honorable Andrew M. Cuomo Governor of New York State NYS State Capitol Building Albany, NY 12224

Topic: Indian Point Nuclear Power Plant Concerns

Dear Governor Cuomo:

At the May 18, 2011 Land Use-Full Board meeting, Community Board 8M adopted the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor, 0 opposed, 1 Abstentions:

WHEREAS, Indian Point nuclear power plan is situated near New York City; and

WHEREAS, New York City is grossly under-prepared for a citywide evacuation should a nuclear crisis on the scale of what occurred at the Fukushima Daiichi plant in Japan were to occur at Indian Point; and

WHEREAS, the licenses for the two nuclear reactors still operating in Indian Point are due to expire in 2013 and 2015; and

WHEREAS, Indian Point nuclear power plant is situated on two active fault lines;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 calls on the Nuclear Regulatory Commission to independently and objectively evaluate the safety, security, and environmental standards of the Indian Point nuclear power plant, as well as its evacuation plan, before it considers renewing its reactor licenses.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Rose Pierre-Louis, Deputy Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member

Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator

Hon. Jonathan Bing, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member

Diane Screnci, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Office of Public Affairs, Region I Neil A. Sheehan, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Office of Public Affairs, Region I

Joe Martens, Commissioner, Department of Environment Conservation