Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

April 26, 2010

Jay Walder, Chairman Metropolitan Transportation Authority 347 Madison Avenue New York, NY 10017

Dear Mr. Walder:

At the April 21, 2010 Land Use/Full Board meeting, the committee adopted the following resolution by a vote of 36 in favor, 2 opposed, 1 Abstention:

WHEREAS, the MTA, its contractors and other participants in the Second Avenue Subway ("SAS") project have committed to regular public meetings with affected communities in Manhattan Community Board 8 ("CB8M"), and

WHEREAS, there were a number of issues of current concern to CB8M and the community unrelated to the SAS ancillary facilities and the ongoing litigation over the facilities, and

WHEREAS, CB8M does recognize that the MTA holds meetings directly with those affected by some of these other issues, and

WHEREAS, the only opportunity for many members of the community and the members of the Community Board to interact directly with the MTA and its contractors over these issues is a meeting of CB8M's Second Avenue Subway Task Force,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED, that CB8M wishes to express its disappointment that the MTA and its contractors failed to attend the March 24, 2010 SAS Task Force meeting under the belief that only the ancillary facilities were going to be discussed, and

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that CB8m requests that the MTA commit to attend all future SAS Task Force meetings so that they are available to address community concerns that may not be listed on the formal agenda, with the understanding that representatives of the MTA and its contractors may not be able to discuss issues which are the subject to pending litigation.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

M. Barry Schneider and H. Patrick Stewart Co-Chairs, Second Avenue Subway Task Force cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member

Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator

Hon. Jonathan Bing, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member