Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

May 13, 2010

Chancellor Joel Klein NYC Department of Education 52 Chambers Street New York, NY 10007

RE: Students on Waitlist

Dear Chancellor Klein:

At its Land Use/Full Board meeting Wednesday, May 12, 2010, Manhattan Community Board 8 adopted the following resolution by a vote of 41 in favor, 0 opposed and 1 abstention:

WHEREAS the Department of Education has indicated in the past that waitlisted UES families may indicate a preference for an alternative placement due to overcrowding, and

WHEREAS it is appropriate for the Department of Education to make this accommodation to children who are unable to attend their first choice school due to overcrowding, and

WHEREAS the number of waitlisted students at PS 59, PS 183, and PS 290 are approximately double that of the number of students waitlisted last year, and

WHEREAS the Department of Education plans alternate placement assignments for waitlisted students by geographical location,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8M requests that the Department of Education to allow those students in Community District 8M who are zoned for PS59, PS 183, and PS290 and who, because of overcrowding, are Wait Listed the option to indicate a school in Community District 8M that they would prefer to attend, should there be space, for the school year of 2010 – 2011 and beyond.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair James Clynes and Judith Schneider Co-Chair, Youth and Education Committee cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Dennis M. Walcott, Deputy Mayor for Policy

Hon. Kathleen Grimm, Deputy Chancellor of Finance & Administration

Hon. Jeff Shear, Chief of Staff

Hon. Martin Barr, Executive Director, Department of Education

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Rose Pierre-Louis, Deputy Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member

Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator

Hon. Jonathan Bing, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member

Hon. Robert Jackson, Chair, Education Committee, New York City Council

Marc Sternberg, Deputy Chancellor of Portfolio Planning

Elizabeth Rose, Office of Portfolio, Department of Education

Jenny Sobelman, Office of Public Affairs, Department of Education

Anthony Borelli, Director of Land Use, Manhattan Borough President's Office

Shaan Khan, Director of Comm. Affairs & Constituent Services, Manhattan Borough

President's Office

Daria Rigney, Superintendent Community School District 2

T. Elzora Cleveland, President, CEC District 2