Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

April 20, 2011

William Goodrich MTA New York City Transit 2 Broadway D17.120 New York, NY 10004

Re: MTA Restrict Hours

Dear Mr. Goodrich:

At the April 13, 2011 Full Board meeting, the Second Avenue Subway Task Force Committee adopted the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions:

WHEREAS the MTA has proposed adding a third shift to the Second Avenue Subway Construction Project in the near future, and\

WHEREAS the current permits for controlled blasting, issued by the FDNY, allow for blasting from 6 AM - 12 midnight, and

WHEREAS it is the sense of the community that the blasting operation is intrusive and disruptive at any time,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Manhattan Community Board 8 urges the MTA to restrict its controlled blasting operation for the duration of the project from the hours of 7 AM - 10 PM Monday through Friday and 10 AM - 7 PM on Saturdays.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair M. Barry Schneider and H. Patrick Stewart Co-Chairs, Second Avenue Subway Task Force cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator Han. Janathan Bing, New York State Senator

Hon. Jonathan Bing, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member

Alissa Kosowsky, MTA New York City Transit

Claudia Wilson, MTA New York City Transit

Dennis Tierney, MTA New York City Transit