Jacqueline Ludorf Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue, Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022-1106 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com - Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

April 20, 2011

William Goodrich MTA New York City Transit 2 Broadway D17.120 New York, NY 10004

Re: MTA Hotline

Dear Mr. Goodrich:

At the April 13, 2011 Full Board meeting, the Second Avenue Subway Task Force Committee adopted the following resolution by a vote of 37 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions:

WHEREAS a variety of issues affecting members of the community living and working in the Second Avenue Subway construction zone may occur at all hours of the day and night, and

WHEREAS the "hotline" maintained by the MTA is available only during the hours of 9 AM - 5 PM, Monday through Friday,

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Manhattan Community Board 8 urges the MTA to establish and maintain a monitored emergency phone number 24/7 and that calls be returned the next day.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Jacqueline Ludorf Chair M. Barry Schneider and H. Patrick Stewart Co-Chairs, Second Avenue Subway Task Force

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator Hon. Jonathan Bing, New York State Assembly Member Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member Alissa Kosowsky, MTA New York City Transit Claudia Wilson, MTA New York City Transit Dennis Tierney, MTA New York City Transit