James G. Clynes Chairman

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

## The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

March 20, 2015

Thomas F. Prendergast Chairman, Chief Executive Officer MTA/NYC Transit 2 Broadway New York, NY 10004 Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35th Flr. New York, NY 10038

**Re:** Discussion of the possible elimination of the westbound M86 stop at 2<sup>nd</sup> & York, which is proposed for consolidation with a stop on York Avenue between 90<sup>th</sup> & 91<sup>st</sup> Streets

Dear Chairman Prendergast and Commissioner Forgione:

At the March 18, 2015 Full Board meeting, the board passed the following resolution by a vote of 33 in favor, 2 opposed, 1 abstention and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS NYC Transit is planning to launch Select Bus Service on the M86 crosstown line in 2015; and

WHEREAS NYC Transit proposes to move the first two westbound M86 stops, which are currently located on 92nd Street west of York Ave. and on York Ave. north of 90th Street, and combine them in a new stop on York Avenue between 91st & 92nd Street; and

WHEREAS this relocation would require some riders to unnecessarily cross 91st Street, across York Avenue from the future Marine Transfer Station (which is now under construction);

WHEREAS combining these two stops will create a quarter-mile gap between westbound M86 stations; and

WHEREAS combining these two stops will not result in an appreciable increase in travel speed for bus riders; and

WHEREAS the community wishes to retain the existing stop locations;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8 Manhattan urges New York City Transit to retain the two existing westbound M86 stops on East 92nd Street west of York Ave. and on York Ave. north of East 90th Street, instead of moving and combining these stops.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

James G. Clynes Chairman A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Honorable Bill de Blasio, Mayor of the City of New York Honorable Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President Honorable Carolyn Maloney, 14<sup>th</sup> Congressional District Representative Honorable Liz Krueger, NYS Senator, 26<sup>th</sup> Senatorial District Honorable Dan Quart, NYS Assembly Member, 73<sup>rd</sup> Assembly District Honorable Rebecca Seawright, NYS Assembly Member, 65<sup>th</sup> Assembly District Honorable Ben Kallos, NYC Council Member, 5<sup>th</sup> Council District Honorable Daniel Garodnick, NYC Council Member, 4<sup>th</sup> Council District