Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

## The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

March 22, 2013

Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35<sup>th</sup> Flr. New York, NY 10038

> Re: DOT School Safety Division to give a presentation on Safe Routes to Schools for three of our Priority Schools: Ramaz Lower School-125 East 85<sup>th</sup> Street, Park Avenue Christian Church Day School-1010 Park Avenue and St. Joseph's School-404 East 87<sup>th</sup> Street.

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

At the March 20, 2013 Full Board meeting, Community Board 8M <u>APPROVED</u> the following resolution by a vote of 40 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS the New York City Department of Transportation's Safe Routes to Schools initiative is designed to increase safety within a 700-foot radius of local schools; and

WHEREAS having safer routes to and from schools aims to decrease injuries not just for students, but for the entire community; and

WHEREAS Phase 1 of NYC DOT's Safe Routes to Schools improved safety in the area around 135 schools; and

WHEREAS Phase 2 of the program includes three priority schools within Community District 8: Ramaz Lower School, Park Ave. Christian Day School, and St. Joseph's School; and

WHEREAS potential street improvements under this project include several neckdowns and some concrete bus pads; and

WHEREAS neckdowns reduce crossing distances, increase pedestrian visibility, decrease sidewalk overcrowding, and calm traffic; and concrete bus pads prevent degrading asphalt;

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED that Community Board 8M supports NYC DOT's Safe Routes to Schools program, and asks DOT to return in 2014 to present their final plans for the area around these three priority schools.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

 cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator Hon. Dan Quart, New York State Assembly Member Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member