Nicholas Viest Chair

Latha Thompson District Manager



505 Park Avenue Suite 620 New York, N.Y. 10022 (212) 758-4340 (212) 758-4616 (Fax) www.cb8m.com Website info@cb8m.com - E-Mail

## The City of New York Manhattan Community Board 8

March 23, 2012

Margaret Forgione Manhattan Borough Commissioner NYC Department of Transportation 59 Maiden Lane, 35<sup>th</sup> Flr. New York, NY 10038

Re: Request by SSK (Second Avenue Subway Contractor) for layover lane on east curb of 2<sup>nd</sup> Avenue between E. 74<sup>th</sup> and E. 75<sup>th</sup> Streets to stage muck and concrete trucks in an effort to alleviate traffic congestion on 2<sup>nd</sup> Avenue. (joint item with Second Avenue Subway Task Force)

Dear Commissioner Forgione:

At the March 21, 2012 Full Board meeting, Community Board 8M approved the following resolution by a vote of 40 in favor, 0 opposed, 0 abstentions and 0 not voting for cause:

WHEREAS, the staging of muck and concrete trucks in connection with the Second Avenue Subway work has created traffic, noise and pollution problems, and

WHEREAS, MTA NYC Transit has committed to reduce congestion, noise and pollution if they are given a layover lane for the trucks, and

WHEREAS, the layover lane is needed mostly for the muck operations which will last for two or three months and may not be as necessary for the concrete truck operations,

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that Community Board 8 recommends that a layover lane be provided on the east curb of Second Avenue between East 74<sup>th</sup> and East 75<sup>th</sup> Streets for the staging of muck trucks involved in the Second Avenue Subway construction for the duration of the muck operations.

Please advise this office of any action taken regarding this matter.

Sincerely,

Nicholas Viest Chair A. Scott Falk and Charles Warren Co-Chairs, Transportation Committee

cc: Hon. Michael Bloomberg, Mayor of the City of New York

Hon. Scott M. Stringer, Manhattan Borough President

Hon. Carolyn Maloney, United States Congress Member

Hon. Liz Krueger, New York State Senator

Hon. Dan Quart, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Micah Kellner, New York State Assembly Member

Hon. Daniel Garodnick, New York City Council Member

Hon. Jessica Lappin, New York City Council Member